.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

DIY Poetry Publishing Cooperative

November 30, 2007

So, what's new?

(There's a lot more to add to this post...possibly this afternoon.)

Carl Annarumo at Triptych Trencher is calling for submissions for a new series of chapbooks to be called "the greying ghost" as well as demo cassettes for their new-fangled-yet-old-school audio series. Details here.

Kitchen Press is serving up Why I Am White by Mathias Svalinas. Enticed by samples such as "I am a white mineral made of sodium chloride. I have been used for thousands of years as a medium of trade or payment as implied in the word 'salary,'" we can't wait to find out, so we just ordered a copy. The Kitchen is open 24 hours here.

Coconut Books, brought to you by the editor of Coconut magazine, a.k.a. Bruce Covey, has just released Reb Livingston's debut collection Your Ten Favorite Words. You probably know Reb from her blog Home-Schooled By a Cackling Jackal, No Tell Motel, or No Tell Books, but if you don't know her poems you're in for a treat. They're verbally supercharged and, well, hot. We can't recommend this one highly enough. Scoot.

And speaking of No Tell, their fall titles have landed. The Bedside Guide to No Tell Motel: Second Floor collects poems exploring the "multifaceted aspects of desire and appeal." Harlot by Jill Alexander Essbaum takes a "parallax view of religion as sex and sex as religion." The poems in Laurel Snyder's The Myth of the Simple Machines follow the adventures of an unnamed girl & resemble "shoebox dioramas on the classroom window ledge." Shy Green Fields by Hugh Behm-Steinberg contains 100 seven-line poems threading in and out of dreams, cities, & other intimate labyrinths. The line forms here. Or visit one of the bookstores listed here.

The latest chapbooks from Katalanche Press--ambience is a novel with a logo by Tan Lin & Z Formation by Michael Slosek--are yours for the asking (plus $7.50 and $2, respectively) at the Katalanche blog, which also offers enticing excerpts. Also available, chapbooks by C.S. Carrier, Monica Fambrough, Alan Davies & others.

Eiríkur Örn Norðdahl's anthology of translations of experimental poetry into Icelandic, 131.839 SLÖG MEÐ BILUM (or, en Englais, 131.839 keystrokes with spaces), renders poems by Charles Bernstein, Jon Paul Fiorentino, Susana Gardner, Oscar Rossi, Kirby Olson, Leevi Lehto, Sharon Mesmer, Jan Hjort, Jesse Ball, Markku Paasonen, Jack Kerouac, Derek Beaulieu, Katie Degentesh, Paul Dutton, Nada Gordon, Paal Bjelke Andersen, Gherardo Bortolotti, Daniel Scott Tysdal, Iain Bamforth, Michael Lentz, Anne Waldman, Teemu Manninen, Mike Topp, Ida Börjel, Amiri Baraka, S. Baldrick, bpNichol, Charles Bukowski, Mairead Byrne, Mark Truscott, John Tranter, Sylvia Legris, Maya Angelou, Bruce Andrews, Haukur Már Helgason, Craig Dworkin, Shanna Compton, Lars Mikael Raattamaa, Vito Acconci, K. Silem Mohammad, Frank Bidart, Rita Dahl, damian lopes, Jelaluddin Rumi, Rachel Levitsky, Tom Leonard, Hans Magnus Enzensberger, Ian Hamilton Finlay, Ulf Karl Olov Nilsson, Caroline Bergvall, Christian Bök, e. e. cummings, Saul Williams, a. rawlings, Stephen Cain, Jeff Derksen, Linh Dinh, Nico Vassilakis, Martin Glaz Serup, Malte Persson, & Anna Hallberg with all kinds of funny-looking diacritical marks to amaze & befuddle nonspeakers. But don't let your haughty American monolinguism stop you! At least recommend it to your Icelandic friends. The book is available from ntamo's Lulu storefront.

Switchback Books is proud to announce the release of Our Classical Heritage: A Homing Device by Caroline Noble Whitbeck. This debut collection of poems is the winner of the 2006 Gatewood Prize selected by judge Arielle Greenberg: "Our Classical Heritage is a pleasurable and witty work, pinned sharply but delicately to reality through images of cultural detritus and evocations of American childhood...[.]" Available directly from the press or via SPD.

Blood Pudding Press is pleased to announce that [GROWLING SOFTLY] is now available. [GROWLING SOFTLY] is a hand-designed, ribbon-bound poetry magazine, featuring the work of the following highly delectable muckrakers: Melissa Culbertson, Kyle Simonsen, Christine Hamm, Luc Simonic, Misti Rainwater-Lites, Rachel Lisi, Victor D. Infante, Sara Mumolo, Kristy Bowen, Melissa Crowe, Kenneth Pobo, Michalle Gould, Juliet Cook, Nikol Raquel Polidoro, Stephen Morse, John Rocco, Pablo Joaquin Lopez, Mary Alexandra Agner, Todd Heldt, T.A. Noonan, Jill Alexander Essbaum, Matina Stamatakis, Derek Motion, Peg Duthie, Shelley Nation, Elisa Gabbert & Amber Nelson. Get it from the Blood Pudding Etsy shop here.

Anchiote Press has released several new chapbooks since we last checked in, and as usual they're offering twofer specials. Objective Practice by Mia You + Anchiote Seeds 3 = $12. Or Nicholas Manning's Novaless: I-XXVI + Anchiote Seeds 2 = 12. That's solid math, either way. Warm up your PayPal finger & visit their store.

Now available from Tarpaulin Sky Press: Nylund, the Sarcographer by Joyelle McSweeney & Figures for a Darkroom Voice by Noah Eli Gordon & Joshua Marie Wilkinson, with images by Noah Saterstrom. (Yeah, Nylund is a novel, so technically outside the purview of this here blog, but being fans of McSweeney's poetry & poetry criticism we're ordering a copy right now! How can you resist something described as "negative capability on steroids"?) The first printed issue of Tarpaulin Sky the journal is also available, with a hybrid form theme.

Like bugs? Check out the "insecta" issue of qarrtsiluni, guest-edited by Ivy Alvarez & Marly Youmans. They're seeking more buggy poems through December 15. Submission details here.

Taiga, a new poetry journal is seeking submissions for their first issue, scheduled to appear in July 2008. Editors Brooklyn Copeland & Cortney Settle warmly welcome translations, as well as "edgy, refined work with attention to detail." For more details, see their submission guidelines here.

Morgan Lucas Schuldt's first book, Verge, has just been released by Free Verse Editions. Lisa Jarnot says "In the tradition of Jacques Roubaud’s Some Thing Black and Stan Brakhage’s The Act of Seeing with One’s Own Eyes, Morgan Lucas Schuldt’s Verge is a concise and unsettling ride along the boundary between life and death. Through careful lyric gestures and Joycian guttural utterances, Schuldt’s poems linger at the verges of the body and the breath, all along reminding the reader that the language of poetry depends upon our 'meat-leased' fragile corporeal forms." Get your meat-leased selves over to the online store to pick up your copy now.

Lastly, here's a new distribution option for DIYers to check out. Katie Haegel will consider submission of zines & chapbooks of poetry and/or fiction over at the La La Theory. She's already got a bunch of handmade stuff available that you probably won't find anyplace else.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments:

  • Great update, Shanna! Thanks for the Insecta/qarrtsiluni mention, too.

    By Blogger Ivy, at 12:33 PM  

  • thanks for the link shanna!

    craig
    achiote press

    By Blogger csperez, at 3:09 AM  

  • Thanks also for the mention but more importantly the update... I can't keep up anymore!

    xo,
    b

    By Blogger B-Ho, at 11:29 PM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home